Watch the 2018 Top Choice Awards Gala Live

Guide to Summer of 2018 in Durham Region

When in Durham Region visit these Top Choice Award Winners this Summer


The Regional Municipality of Durham is east of Toronto, in the Golden Horseshoe area of Ontario. It is a mix of rural, residential, and commercial land. North Durham is mostly rural, has a thriving agriculture sector, and is home to Oak Ridges Moraine.

Durham has eight unique area municipalities, each with something new and interesting to discover:

  1. Ajax
  2. Brock
  3. Clarington
  4. Oshawa
  5. Pickering
  6. Scugog
  7. Uxbridge
  8. Whitby

The Regional Municipality of Durham Region is also known as the Region of Durham. It has an area of approximately 2,500 square kilometres. Headquarters of the regional government is in Whitby. The Region of Durham was established in 1974 as one of several new regional governments in Ontario. What began as 21 local municipalities in the counties of Ontario, Northumberland and Durham, eventually became known as The Regional Municipality of Durham.

Early History

Durham Region was originally the home of a number of First Nations. The First Nations people settled into community groupings at the mouth of the Credit River, on the shores of Rice Lake, Mud Lake and Lake Scugog. 

The first immigrants to this area were French followed by English explorers and settlers during the 1600s and 1700s. These early immigrants created a demand for furs to export to France and England and other parts of Europe. 

In the 1800s these early immigrants established mills, lumber operations, created local harbours and began manufacturing farm implements, construction goods, carriages and sleighs and other goods for shipment to other parts of Canada, the United States and abroad. In the 1900s many immigrants came from Britain and Europe and settled in this area to take up jobs in the factories, foundries and businesses that became the commercial and business base of Durham Region. 

Durham Region was created on Jan. 1, 1974, under The Regional Municipality of Durham Act, 1973. The Act had received royal assent on June 22, 1973. The new bill introduced an upper-tier level of government, which would house eight area municipalities, now known as: the cities of Oshawa and Pickering, the towns of Ajax and Whitby, the Municipality of Clarington, and the townships of Brock, Scugog and Uxbridge.

Plus, it created the largest geographical jurisdiction in the GTA, encompassing an area of just under 2,600 square kilometres (1,000 square miles).

Today, Durham Region is one of six Regional governments in Ontario. 


With Summer beginning you may have more time on your hands to do the things you've been wanting to try or get to! Instead of spending more time looking for the best places to go or the best businesses that will provide you with the service you're looking for, reference this list of Top Choice Award Winners in Durham Region voted by the people in Durham to guide you this summer. We trust these businesses will exceed your expectations!

Johnny Cuts Barbershop - Top Barber Shop 

Durham Boxing Academy - Top Boxing Gym

Cupcakes Canada - Top Cupcake Shop

Theatre Dance Academy - Top Dance School

Oshawa Golf and Curling Club - Top Golf Club and Event Facility 

Gemini Gymnastics - Top Gymnastics Club

Thomas Baillie - Top Hair Hair Salon

The Pickering Horse Centre Ltd. - Top Horse Riding School

Buckingham Meat Market - Top Meat Shop

Enchanted Hands Day Spa - Top Spa

Ahimsa Yoga Whitby - Top Yoga Studio

Stay Informed

Join our email list to get the latest news.